Empowering all Women, in Space and on Earth

WIA-Europe Breakfast & Awards Ceremony at IAF Spring Meeting 2016

On Tuesday, 22nd March 2016, 08:00 Р09:30 WIA-Europe successfully held its traditional WIA-E Breakfast and Awards Ceremony  during the IAF Spring Meetings in Paris.

More than 150 participants gathered to hear most interesting interventions by prominent keynote speakers, 3 Heads of leading European space agencies and distinguished corporate members:

  • Prof. Johann-Dietrich Woerner, Director General, European Space Agency ESA
  • Jean-Yves Le Gall, President, Centre National d‚ÄôEtudes Spatiales CNES
  • Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the Executive Board, German Aerospace Center DLR

The audience was welcomed by WIA-Europe’s President¬†Simonetta di Pippo¬†and by IAF’s President¬†Kiyoshi Higuchi.

Claudia Kessler, Chair of the WIA-Europe Board of Directors, introduced the WIA-Europe 2016 Outstanding achievement Award winner, Candace Johnson and held the laudatio. Candace Johnson gave an impressive speech. More information Рsee Press Release here.

The Chair of the WIA-E Awards & Grants Committee,¬†Prof. Chris Welch, together with WIA-Europe’s Director of Professional Development,¬†Christina Giannopapa, presented the WIA-E 2016 Student & Young Professional Award winner,¬†Michaela Musilova. More information – see¬†here.

WIA-Europe was proud to announce its new corporate members ASI, GSA and Lockheed Martin Corporation.

Jim Crocker, Vice President and General Manager, Civil Space, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Co. gave a short statement.

WIA-Europe would like to congratulate the Awards winners and express sincere thanks to all speakers, WIA-E individual and corporate members present, WIA-E local groups leaders and Board members.

Share the Post:

Related Posts

Scroll to Top