Empowering all Women, in Space and on Earth

Grant Winners

WIA-Europe Grants & Awards Winners 2024

Women in Aerospace Europe would like to congratulate the following winners of the WIA-Europe 2024 Grants and Awards! WIA-Europe is devoted to providing support to its members through a variety of initiatives that strive to encourage upcoming talent and to support professionals dedicated to growing a gender-balanced aerospace community and who look to advance the […]

WIA-Europe Grants & Awards Winners 2024

WIA-E Grants & Awards Winners announced

We are pleased to announce the winners of WIA-Europe Grants and Awards 2021. With the support of our new partner Fondazione Amaldi, the Awards and Grants will be presented to the winners during the New Space Economy Symposium in Rome in December 2022. WIA-E GRANT WINNERS Within the Grants & Awards programme, WIA-Europe provides Grants

WIA-E Grants & Awards Winners announced

2020 Grants programme postponed due to COVID-19 situation

Please note that the evolving COVID-19 situation has led to the cancellation of almost all physical meetings and conferences planned for 2020. Therefore the purpose of our Grants programme, which is intended to cover travel costs to participate to a conference, can not be satisfied this year. Despite the enthusiasm of our candidates and our

2020 Grants programme postponed due to COVID-19 situation Read More Ā»

Sara Khan – 2019 Winner

Ms Khan is first author of the paper ā€œLeveraging Additive Manufacturing to Enable Deep Space Crewed Missionsā€. Her paper has been accepted for oral presentation at the upcoming International Astronautical Congress (IAC) Conference in Washington DC. At the same Congress, she will also present another paper that she has co-authored on “Single Bubble Sonoluminescence Microgravity

Sara Khan – 2019 Winner

Greta De Marco – 2019 Winner

Greta De Marco, former ESA trainee, is currently a spacecraft operations engineer working for SCISYS (Darmstadt, Germany). She graduated in 2018 at Politecnico di Milano, where she studied space engineering. While at university she spent a semester abroad in Spain at Universidad Politecnica de Madrid and she took part to different space-related summer schools.

Greta De Marco – 2019 Winner

Merel Vergaaij – 2019 Winner

Merel Vergaaij is a PhD student in Space and Exploration Technologies at the University of Glasgow. She holds a BSc (Aerospace Engineering) and MSc (Space Exploration) from Delft University of Technology. Her PhD focuses on the integration of economic modelling and trajectory optimization to assess the profitability of Near-Earth Asteroid mining. During her MSc, she

Merel Vergaaij – 2019 Winner

Helia Sharif – 2017 Winner

Helia Sharif holds a B. A. Sc. in Systems Engineering from Simon Fraser University and a M. A. Sc. in Aerospace Engineering from Carleton University in Canada. Additionally, she has completed the Space Studies Program at the International Space University in Austria. Her passion for space and robotics has lead her to pursue a number

Helia Sharif – 2017 Winner

Scroll to Top